Planning Commission

The Planning Commission is a local unit of the government that is directed by State Statue to establish County development plans that promote the health, safety, morals, order, convenience, prosperity, and general welfare of County residents. Duties include:

  • May adopt, amend, and implement a master plan;
  • Approve a master plan as a guide for development within the planning jurisdiction;
  • Shall adopt bylaws for the transaction of business, and shall keep public record of its resolutions;
  • Shall make a written report to the legislative body concerning its operations and the status of planning activities;
  • Educate the public on local planning issues;
  • Review and comment on proposed public works.

Commission Members

Phil Morse
1921 Oak Ave
New Era, MI 49446

Allen Blohm
2845 S Oceana Dr
Shelby, MI  49455

Bryan Broderick

John Foss

Scott Rumsey
75 W Michigan Ave
Hesperia, MI  49421

Paul Cutter
3209 N 140th Ave
Hart, MI  49420

John Stivers
8050 W Stonycroft Rd
Shelby, MI  49455

Garry McKeen
821 S Glen Rd
Shelby, MI 49455

Gina Loera


All regular meetings of the Oceana County Planning Commission will be held on the first Thursday of the month at 1:00 PM in the classroom at the Oceana County Services Building, 844 S. Griswold Street, Hart, unless otherwise noted. View upcoming events.

Find Planning Commission Meeting Agendas and Minutes