The Board of Commissioners is the governing body and the major policy approval center for county government.  It is the legislative body with authority over most aspects of the county.  Oceana County has a seven-member board with each member elected for two-year terms. The Board has Constitutional, statutory, and discretionary duties it performs.  A few examples from these three categories are:

  • Develop and adopt an annual balanced budget
  • Monitor revenues and expenditures
  • Perform an annual audit of financial systems
  • Approve tax levies and a variety of equalization reports
  • Set compensation for all elected officials, appointed officials, and employees
  • Appoint a number of officials and/or citizens to various boards and commissions
  • Establish management and personnel policies and procedures
  • Provide for county participation in several multi-jurisdictional human service programs
  • And many other duties not explicitly listed.  Many of these other duties are carried out by an appointed County Administrator.
Board of Commissioners
District 1
Ron ChristiansEmail:
Townships of Pentwater, Weare, and Crystal
District 5
Tim BeggsEmail:
Townships of Benona, Claybanks, and Golden
District 2
Martha Meyette
6163 S. Maple Island Road
Hesperia, Michigan 49421
(231) 736-5738
Townships of Newfield and Greenwood
District 6
Phil Morse
Township of Shelby with the exception of a portion of the Village of New Era (Third Street East to James Street and Ray Street South to Garfield Road)
District 3
Craig Hardy
Township of Hart and Hart City
District 7
Robert Walker
7389 Michigan Avenue
Rothbury, Michigan 49452
(231) 894-9541
Townships of Grant and Otto and a small portion of Shelby Township, Village of New Era (Third Street East to James Street and Ray Street South to Garfield Road).
District 4
Paul EricksonEmail:
Townships of Colfax, Leavitt, Elbridge, and Ferry