Brownfield Redevelopment Authority

The Oceana County Brownfield Redevelopment Authority was created by the Oceana County Board of Commissioners on July 8, 2021 under the Brownfield Redevelopment Financing Act, Public Act 381 of 1996, as amended.  The Authority consists of a nine (9) member board of directors serving three (3) years, following each members’ initial staggered terms of appointment.

View the Brownfield Redevelopment Authority’s bylaws


The Authority was created to assist in the revitalization of properties.  The Authority may approve plans that help revitalize, redevelop, and reuse contaminated, blighted, or functionally obsolete, or historic sites.  The Authority would encourage remediation of those sites by providing developers with a means to recover eligible remediation costs to develop the property into a viable community asset.

Watch a short video explaining the purpose of a Brownfield Redevelopment Authority.

The Authority is only authorized to operate in communities that explicitly choose to be members of the Authority through adoption of a resolution by the local governing body.  Communities that have chosen to participate include:

  • Village of Rothbury
  • Village of Pentwater
  • Village of Hesperia
  • Village of Shelby
  • Pentwater Township
  • Shelby Township
  • Golden Township
  • Ferry Township
  • Elbridge Township
  • City of Hart
  • Hart Township
  • Claybanks Township


  • Tom Osborne
  • Mary Lou Phillips
  • Norman Dodds
  • Lynne Cavazos
  • Denny Powers
  • Larry Byl
  • Gina Loerna
  • Anne Pawli
  • Curtis Burdette

Download the complete contact list for each board member in PDF format.


All Regular Meetings of the Oceana County Brownfield Redevelopment Authority Board will be held on the second Tuesday of the month at 10:00 AM at the Oceana County Services Building, in the Classroom, 844 S. Griswold Street, Hart, unless otherwise noted. See upcoming meetings.

Find Brownfield Redevelopment Authority Meeting Agendas and Minutes